Dog in pram, that’s what’s next

15 Sep

So in response to my cry to heaven in my last post as to “whatever next” after discovering Americans celebrate bark mitzvas for their dogs, my answer was revealed to me today as I was walking with a friend near Central Park, when I found myself crossing paths with a funny smiley lady walking past us pushing a fluffy cute white dog in its very own buggy/stroller.

Funnily enough, I had already once noticed another Manhattanite doing the same thing but had obviously assumed at the time that she had put her canine charge in her (human) baby’s buggy and said baby was elsewhere/grown-up etc.

But on closer inspection today, I noticed that the buggy/pram/stroller was specifically designed for a small dog rather than a small person. It even had a large paw-print design on the front, which only served to confirm my suspicions. The doggy woggy in question looked very content and relaxed as it was being pushed along the street.

Its owner called out to me on seeing my look of incredulity: “He can walk too!”

And yes, of course I had to Google ‘dog stroller’ to see what would come up online and yes, of course, there are plenty of tailor-made websites specifically designed for all your dog stroller needs. Here’s one example: justpetstrollers.com

So now you know what to do and where to go if your dog gets tired walking using the time-honoured method of its own four trotters.

3 Responses to “Dog in pram, that’s what’s next”

  1. Aliza Hausman September 19, 2010 at 10:22 #

    Okay, I have to confess I owned a cat stroller once. I don’t know what got into me but one day I found myself walking around with said cat stroller through Harlem, one of NYC’s “toughest” neigborhoods. I shoved my two kittens in the stroller together and they nearly killed each other inside of it while most of Harlem nearly died laughing as I passed by.

  2. Abigail September 20, 2010 at 04:15 #

    There is a man in yonder Golders Shmidt Green who doth indeed not only push one furry little canine around in a strange old fashioned looking doll’s pram, but has TWO dogs inside it looking v calm and content, whilst an older- no doubt wiser- larger dog wearily plods next to them whilst their owner pushes them around. How mad the world has become!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On sounds of rioting, public holidays that creep up on me unawares and 49 other things I don’t understand about Kenya | rebeccainspace - December 14, 2013

    […] 11) Dogs and buggies/strollers – missing? Took me a while to realise a couple of things that I take for granted as the norm on the streets of New York, London or Paris are missing as you walk down the street here in Nairobi. No one has a dog and all Nairobian babies seem to be carried snugly on their mums’ backs and not in buggies. (Certainly no Kenyan, therefore, would ever dream of pushing a dog along in a stroller, unlike those funny Manhattanites I once blogged about). […]

Leave a Reply

