democratic right to vote shamelessly denied

6 May

Thanks to a highly, infuriatingly, maddeningly incompetent local council back in London, who managed to “somehow” NOT process my proxy vote form as they were meant to, I found myself a disenfranchised and a long long way away from England today.

Today just happening to be Polling Day for one of the first general elections in a long long while that’s really got me inspired to vote.

All day long I was fuming down the phone on long-distance calls with those rotters at Barnet Council who admitted their wrongdoing and in the same breath shrugged off doing anything about it – other than claiming a mythical ‘manager’ would be calling me back to resolve the issue.

Pissed off is the understatement to describe my mood as 5pm New York time rolled round, which, with the five-hour time difference, meant that polling stations had officially shut up shop in the UK, and my vote was lost forever.

Here’s what I have to say to the bumbling fools at Barnet Council:

London Borough of Barnet:  I despise, loathe and abhor you for denying me my basic democratic right to vote.

Seeing as you’ve rendered me a disenfranchised citizen, I have no choice but to call on the Queen to lop off all your incompetent heads.

(And who was I intending to vote for? Well, that’s the subject for another blog entry.)

5 Responses to “democratic right to vote shamelessly denied”

  1. Carmith May 7, 2010 at 03:43 #

    I can’t wait to read the Queen’s answer!
    update us! 🙂

  2. Gaelle May 8, 2010 at 14:15 #

    Go to Australia! It is compulsory down there and no Barnet Council (+ the waves are as big as houses in Perth Freemantle.)

  3. Assaf May 11, 2010 at 10:12 #

    b’stards!
    x

  4. Daniella June 30, 2010 at 17:07 #

    Baaarnet Cauuuuuncil (in your mum’s voice)

Leave a Reply

